at Val Casies-Monguelfo-Tesido
A very well preserved castle called Welsperg Castle dominates the mouth of Val Casies Valley northeast of Monguelfo in Val Pusteria Valley. The ruins of Thurn Castle are situated on a forested hill opposite.
Welsperg Castle, the oldest fortress in Upper Val Pusteria, gives visitors three different perspectives. The first is as the setting for the story of a major Tyrolean noble family: the castle served as their family seat from when it was first built up until 1907. Over the course of almost 800 years, the family farmed the lands, and had a marked influence on Tyrol. Secondly, visitors can discover it is built on the rare Welsberger Konglomerat (a special rock formation), which is “only” 100,000 years old. Finally, visitors can take a castle-themed walk through the walls of the medieval fortification, tracing its gradual expansion of its ground plan into an architecturally unique form, the ward of Welsperg Castle.
Castle Welsperg, which is quoted for the first time in a document dating 1126, was built by the Lords of Welsperg (who were Barons of the Sacred Roman Empire since 1539 and Counts of the Sacred Roman Empire since 1693) and it was their ancestral castle and their administrative seat for almost 800 years until 1907.
The fortress played a particularly important role as the judicial and administrative seat of a wide area. When the family of the Lords of Welsperg extinguished, the castle and its possessions were inherited by the Counts Thun-Hohenstein-Welsperg (since 1910) who are still its owners.
ACCESS ONLY WITH GREENPASS!
GUIDED TOURS IN LOW SEASON BY APPOINTMENT: T. +39 0474 978436
every Thursday, 05 September to 30 October from 10.30a.m.-12.30a.m.
This relatively small castle ruin is situated on a hill at the entrance of the Casies Valley. After it had burnt down in 1765 it was not re-erected. The donjon is the only evidence of this former castle. Today of the original castle remains the watchtower - tall 22 meters.
The castle was built by the Lords of Welsperg in the 13th century and most probably emerged from an originally small keep and a hall.
In 1288 Thurn Castle entered into the possession of the Lords of Füllein and in the 14th century it got its today’s name. The ruin occupies a whole hilltop and is 75 metres long. In the 17th century Thurn Castle started to decline and on May 15, 1765, a fire destroyed the bigger part of it. Today, the ruin with its 22 metres high keep is in the possession of Count Georg Thun-Hohenstein-Welsperg.